Discover our guest rooms and gîte

 

Visit us in the heart of Aire sur l’Adour to discover our three comfortable guest rooms and our gîte for pilgrims. The majestic staircase, the cement tiles, and the interior of this beautifully renovated bourgeois building can’t fail to move each visitor.

This building, originally consisting of several houses, appears on the oldest existing maps, with some parts dating back to the Middle Ages.

In the twenty-first century, it harboured a pharmacy and a family-run hotel and restaurant before gently slumbering...

We fell in love at first sigh, and after renovating eco-responsibly the premises for two years, we would be delighted to welcome you here.

From the house, it’s a ten-minute walk to the Sainte Quitterie church, a World Heritage Site of the Routes of Santiago de Compostela (the Route runs right in front of our house). Come discover the extensive historical heritage of Aire sur l’Adour as well.

You’ll be a few steps away from all shops and services: several restaurants in our street and nearby, supermarket, bakeries, pharmacy, market, cinema...

About

Le Jardin sur l’Eau

At the intersection of the Landes, the Gers and the Pyrénées-Atlantiques departments, crossed by the A65 highway and by the river Adour, Aire was and will always be a place of encounters, exchanges, and diversity.

Here, when laughters and songs of the bodegas enchant the evenings, enjoying some glazed duck served with wine from Tursan or Madiran, each, wherever one may come from, can feel this alchemy born from a vibrant and generous local produce.

Let yourself be seduces by the town’s colourful markets, its Courses Landaises (bull-leaping), and its many hiking trails! 

If you are a lover of old stones, don’t miss this travel through time by visiting Aire, ancient episcopal city, the cathedral St Jean-Baptiste, the World Heritage church Sainte Quitterie, the ancient Carmel, or the Halle aux Grains.

Enjoy also in direct vicinity Eugénie Les Bains, a renowned thermal station, with its 3 Michelin stars restaurant and its pleasant 9 hole golf course.

About Us 

Juliette, your hostess:

Insatiable wanderer, I have lived and travelled in some 60 places all around the world. Formerly teacher and trainer, and after raising my seven children, I dreamed of rebuilding a true family home where I could host with an open heart, while respecting the intimacy of my guests.

Vincent who regularly turns up to give a hand 

From white coat to overalls to kitchen apron, I am a jack-of-all-trades! Don’t hesitate to ask me anything: my wish is to share by Juliette’s side, the little and big joys of life to everyone setting foot in the “Jardin sur l’Eau”.

Any question about your stay?

Speak to your host

Testimonies

Traveller’s feedback ( translated from French )

Fantastic and welcoming hosts, very comfortable and well-located rooms, delicious and hearty breakfast! The house is decorated in tasteful and original fashion, we have access to the lovely garden. A restful and wonderful stopover.

Mours71

I recommend this beautiful address as it is a very soothing place (thanks to the interior design, the garden, and the rooms), and the hosts are attentive, available, and friendly. It was my stopover after 600 km on foot on the Route, and it felt great to find this mindset in this beautiful gîte (and with air-conditioning, since it was more than 40°c during daytime). Breakfast is generous, and the free laundry on arrival for the pilgrims is a lovely gift.

Hugues DUMORTIER

We weren’t pilgrims, but travellers coming back from Spain on July 14th in a searing heat. We were lucky to book, just in time, the last very well-designed room with air-conditioning! Heart-warming and discreet hosting. We immediately felt like we were entering a splendid “Bourgeois” house, with its own story, where kindness and peacefulness are ever present. Very comfortable bed.
Generous breakfast, delicately presented in a superb Art-Deco tableware.
Our hosts have unknowingly inspired us much happiness in this beautiful home which shows their fantastic taste in decorating, and through their discreet and warm hosting skills.

Alain Bigot

What a beautiful surprise! Such warm hospitality from Juliette and Vincent in their absolutely charming home, very tastefully decorated. The room was clean and both bed and shower were very comfortable. Thanks to the lovely weather, I have been able to fully enjoy the terrace as well. Thank you for the hearty and varied breakfast, too! I hope to come back very soon!

Lisa

Le Jardin sur l’Eau

Charm and warm welcome in a bourgeois house with garden in the heart of town.

07 49 650 427
25 Rue Carnot 40800, Aire sur l'Adour
lejardinsurleau@gmail.com

14 + 15 =

en_GBEN

DÉCOUVREZ NOS CHAMBRES D’HÔTES  ET NOTRE GÎTE

 

Venez découvrir à Aire sur l’Adour nos trois confortables chambres d’hôtes  et notre gîte pour pèlerins dans une belle bâtisse bourgeoise rénovée du centre ville. L’escalier majestueux, les carreaux ciment et la décoration ne vous laisseront pas indifférents.

Cette immense bâtisse composée à l’origine de plusieurs maisons apparaît sur les plus anciennes cartes existant et certaines parties datent du Moyen Age.

Au XXIème siècle elle abrita une pharmacie et un hôtel-restaurant  familial avant de s’assoupir doucement …

Après  un véritable coup de foudre et deux ans de rénovation écoresponsable, nous serons heureux de vous y accueillir.

De la maison, vous marcherez en deux minutes jusqu’à l’église Saint Quitterie inscrite au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Unesco , au titre des Chemins de Saint Jacques de Compostelle ( le Chemin passe exactement devant notre maison) . Vous découvrirez également le riche patrimoine historique d’Aire sur l’Adour.

Vous serez à quelques pas de tous les commerces et services : plusieurs restaurants dans la rue et alentours, supérette, boulangeries, tabac, pharmacie, marché, cinéma …

A propos

Le Jardin sur l’Eau

Posée aux confins des trois départements des Landes, du Gers et des Pyrénées Atlantiques, traversée par l’A65 et par le fleuve Adour, Aire a été et sera toujours un lieu de rencontres, d’échanges et de diversité.

Ici, quand les rires et les chansons des bodegas réjouissent les soirées, devant une assiette de canard confit arrosé d’un vin de Tursan ou Madiran, chacun, d’où qu’il vienne,  peut ressentir cette alchimie née d’un terroir vivant et généreux.

Comment ne pas être séduit par ses marchés colorés, ses courses landaises et ses nombreux chemins de randonnée ? 

Si vous êtes  amateurs de belles pierres ,vous pourrez vous offrir un voyage dans le temps en visitant  à Aire, ancienne cité épiscopale, la cathédrale St Jean-Baptiste, l’église Ste Quitterie inscrite au Patrimoine de l’Unesco, l’ancien Carmel ou la Halle aux Grains .

Vous profiterez aussi de la proximité immédiate d’Eugénie Les Bains, station thermale renommée, de son restaurant  3 étoiles Michelin et de son charmant golf 9 trous.

Qui sommes-nous ? 

Juliette votre hôtesse :

Baroudeuse insatiable, j’ai  vécu ou voyagé dans une soixantaine d’endroits  dans le monde. Ancienne enseignante et formatrice, et après avoir élevé mes sept enfants, je  rêvais de recréer une vraie maison de famille où accueillir avec le cœur et dans le respect de l’intimité de chacun.

Vincent : 

Tantôt en blouse blanche, tantôt en bleu de travail ou tablier de cuisine, je suis un touche à tout ! N’hésitez pas à me solliciter : mon souhait, aux côtés de Juliette , est de  transmettre les petits et grands plaisirs de la vie à ceux qui font étape au « Jardin sur l’eau ».

Nous faisons vivre ensemble ce projet d’un lieu d’accueil chaleureux.

Vous avez une question?

Pour parler à votre hôte

Témoignages

Avis des voyageurs

Accueil exceptionnel de la part de nos hôtes, chambre très confortable et très bien située, petit-déjeuner excellent et copieux! la déco de la maison est soignée et originale, accès au jardin très agréable. Une halte reposante et très agréable.

Mours71

Je vous recommande cette belle adresse car le lieu est très apaisant (avec son décor, son jardin, ses chambres) ainsi que les hôtes qui sont à l’écoute, disponibles et bienveillants. Ce fut mon halte après 600km a pied sur le chemin et cela m’a fait du bien de trouver cet état d’esprit dans une belle chambre d’hôte (avec la climatisation alors qu’à l’extérieur il faisait plus de 40 en journée). Le petit déjeuner est copieux et pour les pèlerins, offrir une lessive en arrivant est un beau cadeau.

Hugues DUMORTIER

Nous n’étions pas des Pélerins, mais des vacanciers revenant d’Espagne le 14 juillet, par une chaleur caniculaire. Avons eu la chance de réserver in-extremis la dernière chambre très bien aménagée avec climatisation ! Accueil très chaleureux et discret . Nous avons de suite eu la sensation d’entrer dans une magnifique maison « Bourgeoise », qui pourrait raconter son histoire, où la bonté et la sérénité étaient au rendez-vous. Literie très confortable.
Petit déjeuner copieux présenté avec délicatesse dans une superbe pièce Art-Déco.
Nos hôtes nous ont transmis, sans s’en rendre compte, un sentiment de bonheur dans cette belle maison qui reflète leur goût incroyable pour la décoration et le savoir recevoir avec discrétion et chaleur humaine.

<br /> Alain Bigot

Quelle belle surprise! Accueil chaleureux par Juliette et Vincent dans leur maison absolument charmante, décorée avec beaucoup de goût. La chambre était propre, et le lit et la douche étaient très confortables. Avec le beau temps j’ai pu profiter pleinement de la terrasse aussi. Merci à eux pour le petit déjeuner copieux et varié également! A très bientôt j’espère!

Lisa

Le Jardin sur l’Eau

Charme et accueil chaleureux  dans une maison bourgeoise avec jardin en cœur de ville.

07 49 650 427
25 Rue Carnot 40800, Aire sur l'Adour
lejardinsurleau@gmail.com

9 + 12 =